8 Stories from Maine: Roger

Sunday afternoon on Maine’s Higgins Beach, while I nursed both a hangover and my second Heady Topper of the day, a friend said, “I’m not exactly sure because I’ve never had one, but this might have been the perfect weekend.”

It was, friends. It was.

And in order to commemorate our time in Portland, ME, I asked my friends Jon, Jessica, Roger, Heather, Lindsay, Erica, and Brett to each write a little piece about their experience. 8 people. 8 posts. 1 amazing weekend. Enjoy.

Roger writes:

There are times when a series of events, by design or by chance, fall into place in a way that can only be described as ‘perfect’.  When, looking back, you wouldn’t change a single link in the chain, or wish a different course had been taken.  For me, last weekend up in Portland was one of those times.

The crux of the weekend was a simple combination of friends with a common goal of enjoying ourselves, regardless of the circumstances, and an open-mindedness for new experiences in a town that begs to be explored.  Nothing was forced this weekend, and the only set plans I was held to was a 6 hour block of pouring beer two ounces at a time.  People drifted in and out of my weekend as I did theirs with no friction, no complaints.

The time I spent in Portland was so rich with food, drink, friends, and discovery that to try detail each piece would be fool hardy and require 2,000 words to do any justice to my experience there.  So I say ‘Cheers’ and thank you to my friends, Maine, and a perfect weekend.

RPM

Thanks for the post, Roger!
Leave a Reply

