TBT: 19 Years of Shirt

Privileged to participate in “Throwback Thursday” this week, courtesy of an e-mail forward from my mom earlier this week:

Red Oak Email 1
Shout-out to Red Oak Camp in Kirkland, OH. Look for my name on the Science, Canoeing, and Orienteering (maps, yo!) plaques from those years. http://www.redoakcamp.org
If I remember correctly a different, better post-RR photo is still hanging in my mom's kitchen. Would be a top contender for my highest achievement in sport.
If I remember correctly a different, better post-RR photo is still hanging in my mom’s kitchen. Would be a top contender for my highest achievement in sport.
Backstory here: My mom contacted the camp around this time to get more shirts. They didn't have the same feel, and I almost never wore them. Now, they're my 'formal' tee-shirts.
Backstory here: My mom contacted the camp around this time to get more shirts. They didn’t have the same feel, and I almost never wore them. Now, they’re my ‘formal’ tee-shirts.
La mia maglietta preferita con dei miei migliori amici
La mia maglietta preferita con dei miei migliori amici.
Pretty sure I wore a Red Oak shirt at some point every day for the 2 months we were in Italy. Comfort is king.
Pretty sure I wore a Red Oak shirt at some point every day for the 2 months we were in Italy. Comfort is king.

My response:

Red Oak Email Response Lee

ZOOM:

Lee in Red Oak Shirt Blown up

Which yields:

Red Oak Email Response from Mom

These shirts are magical. I have 3 or 4 originals remaining. They have holes in the armpits, from dog bites (not Sim), but have held up remarkably well. Next summer, I will have owned/worn these shirts for TWENTY YEARS!!!

And no, I don’t have a Red Oak shirt on right now. I put one on briefly this morning, but it was still wet from the washing machine.

…I almost wore it anyway:

Leave a Reply

